Dante himself wrote that he was born in the shadow of the Badia Fiorentina in the parish of St. Martin, although it is not certain that the building is exactly where it is now home to the museum. The nearby church of Santa Margherita de 'Cerchi is the place where the poet would meet for the first time Beatrice Portinari.
The museum now incorporates some medieval houses, as one of the two towers of Giuochi, one located in Via Santa Margherita # 1. The family lived next door Giuochi of the Alighieri and became extinct around 1300 with Caesar Gherardo. The original home of the Alighieri is generally indicated (but be sure) as a destroyed building that stood in Piazza San Martino, near the Torre della Castagna, to the current way of stores.
The tower house of the museum owes its medieval appearance to a restoration in 1911 by the architect Giuseppe Castellucci, after which the museum was opened today. Architecture A room
The tower has the typical rows of stone, has some err to "stork's beak" and features putlog holes. On the one hand, on a mensoletta was placed a bronze bust of Dante by Augusto Rivalta
Picturesque, though not original, is well on the small square. The museum
The museum is mainly didactic, with numerous explanatory panels on the Divine Comedy, Dante, his times and his characters. Retain copies of documents on the poet, models and dioramas that highlight some aspects of his life and the historical events of the time, as the Battle of Campaldino. There are also reconstructions of furniture, clothing and other aspects of daily life in medieval Florence, as well as some original pieces, especially digging, weapons, coins and pottery of the time. Curiosity
On a slab in the floor of the square in front of the house, not far from the picturesque well curb, there is a curious blank profile of Dante, whose origins are unknown.
The other tower Giuochi
A second family of Giuochi Tower is located in Via Santa Margherita in front of the Church of Santa Margherita de 'circles, and is barely discernible in the curtain of buildings, because plastered on the upper floors. Only the ground floor still has the traditional stone cladding and a large arch in the buffered.